jordan.dl
prev::next::new::old::email::vendor


2000-12-31 :: 14:02:59

  • "time" is sexy

    Soundtrack: none

    Here is a good resolution that I won't use: I resolve to do something with my life this year that would create an atypical metaphor for that time. Metaphors to avoid would include, but are not limited to: sand in an hourglass, money, water (especially the tides1), the sun and/or the moon, and the elderly.

    I won't be using this resolution because I don't think anything I could do this year would be able to fulfill it, because like most people I have difficulty in dealing with time. Time measures poorly: days and hours are too small for me, months too bulky, years too abstract, weeks too insufferable (and, of course, weekends too squandered). I remember thinking about this on the way to a restaurant this past semester, towards the end, and I scribbled something down on the paper table cover, tore it off and pocketed it, but I'm not sure precisely when this was2, or where the scrap that I wrote the thought down on is.

    What pundits say, what we say, what matters.3 I will enjoy these last moments of the great Y2K (when did I last hear it called that?) by attending a small party at a good friend's, playing NFL Blitz 2000 and Gauntlet Legends and watching two (2) movies. I will call it a good New Year's, and a good year, but I would not call this a particularly good closing. It'll have to do, halfhearted self-deprecation and all, because I need to eat and get going. There are some other thoughts coming out of the spin cycle, I'll set them on tumble dry low and see if they're worth writing about in a few days.

    If I were to look at my life as a graph of time (x) vs. general change (y), I'd say this year's line segment's slope was positive and the value about the same as it usually is. When I look back next year, I hope I'll be able to say the same.


    1���The word "tides" shares, conveniently enough, the letters t, i, and e -- a tie, you might say -- with the word "time," thus providing ample material to give formal semioticians stiff erections. Incidentally, I've always liked the actual appearance and sound of "time," it just feels very right.

    2���This seems rather appropriate, in light of the subject at hand.

    3���?

  • Scud.

    update alerts, maybe:

    Archives for this list are not publically available.
    Max. last five [im]personal journal entries:
  • the leap day that wasn't
  • 28.8 modems rule
  • i've got about six hours at my parents' to sleep before flying back home, so of course i spend some of them on diaryland
  • accounting sure is conservative
  • getting amazing seats at the yard for less than face value: priceless

    (full archive) (previous entry) (next entry)

  • jordan(@)diaryland.com
    Break the parenthetical spam shackles to email me.

    Thanks to Rob Schrab and Steve Purcell for making great things.

    Georgia is used here.