jordan.dl
prev::next::new::old::email::vendor


2000-09-21 :: 03:25:07

  • happy days

    Soundtrack: Ozomatli, "Ozomatli"

    Despite my usual epic-entry nature, I just wanted to make a note of the fact that lately, things are pretty peaceful and happy. Weather's pretty moderate, people are smiling, classes are really interesting -- choosing what I would end up with was really painful, I had too many good choices. (I'm living that TV show "Opposite Sex" in one of my five classes: Women, Magic, and Power. There are about 30 girls, and I am one of two guys. Suffice it to say it feels weird to speak in that class, and even though there are a few really cute girls the prospect of talking to them is shadowed by the inherent sleaze factor.) I didn't feel the newness I sought the very first few days here, but I think I've got it now. I want newness forever.

    Thanks to Erik's sporting nature I've got A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius along with a slew of academia-reading (guess what's being done first). I am going to wrap this right quick and read some of that before collapsing.

    Even with all of the bullshit and smalltalk and euro kisskiss, I am happy. I can even be happy in that stuff, the everyday stuff that we love to loathe. And I'll venture that that's a good thing. You can be Nick and still live the Gatsby moments now and again (now there's another book I never did finish, shame on me).

    More later (or not).

    PS: Dave Eggers' amazing piece in the Harvard Advocate makes me happy.

  • Scud.

    update alerts, maybe:

    Archives for this list are not publically available.
    Max. last five [im]personal journal entries:
  • the leap day that wasn't
  • 28.8 modems rule
  • i've got about six hours at my parents' to sleep before flying back home, so of course i spend some of them on diaryland
  • accounting sure is conservative
  • getting amazing seats at the yard for less than face value: priceless

    (full archive) (previous entry) (next entry)

  • jordan(@)diaryland.com
    Break the parenthetical spam shackles to email me.

    Thanks to Rob Schrab and Steve Purcell for making great things.

    Georgia is used here.