jordan.dl
prev::next::new::old::email::vendor


2001-06-06 :: 2:27 a.m.

  • fully legal

    Soundtrack: none

    twoone

    It's here, and it feels like... shrug. Less introspective than last time. I feel like I'm sorting things out and paying attention and on track without much to prove, lately.

    I officially turned 21 (date-wise, time-wise not quite) in mid-interview for a job back in the States. "What are you going to do?" the guy said, nudge nudge, wink wink.

    "Not much, maybe a few drinks tonight, but nothing big," I replied. I don't know. There's a lot of work left to do and I don't feel any huge pressure to go out since I'm already legal here, etc. After we hung up (he forgot to re-wish me happy birthday as per standard social formality rules; he had to run off to install a motherboard!), I went over to Les's. She had just finished my creative writing final (it's just the beginning of the piece, but I'm already over the word limit), and we had a good talk about ex's and relationships and the past's inescapability. The past is coming back to me here, halfway around the world. But when I thought about it, there's nothing about which I'd say "Oh God, please remove that from my life's story." I suppose that's a nice thing to be able to say at this point (or any point). At the time, sure, I'd do anything to change certain things, but no total shitstains on the record. At least in my eyes.

    For my birthday I will shave my head (maybe, it'll be tomorrow if it's to happen), tell someone the URL of this diary (that's already happened [first time for everything]), and eat McDonald's before I go to sleep tonight (I love their hot fudge). Tomorrow maybe a nice dinner, maybe a few drinks, maybe nothing, since the real party is later.

    Speaking of which: party's on the 15th, if you're in the Melbourne area. Haha.

    [4:46 a.m.] When I went to my room, I had two great messages. One from Sara B singing me happy birthday (with a really sweet self-conscious-about-the-singing after-message) and a funny one from Ivan and Macca ("happy birthday to you, you were born in a zoo, you look like a monkey, and you smell like one too" -- I'd forgotten that little ditty). While there wasn't any hot fudge from McDonald's (all out), the fries and QPC were a great kickoff (can you believe I am saying that), and we proceeded to Macca's room for some G & T's and a few other drinks (Midori Lemonades, etc.). (Enough parentheses?) Tara came along with Ivan and we gossiped and looked out over Melbourne; Macca has a lovely view. A really nice way to start the birthday -- much better than I expected. Okay, sleep now.

  • Scud.

    update alerts, maybe:

    Archives for this list are not publically available.
    Max. last five [im]personal journal entries:
  • the leap day that wasn't
  • 28.8 modems rule
  • i've got about six hours at my parents' to sleep before flying back home, so of course i spend some of them on diaryland
  • accounting sure is conservative
  • getting amazing seats at the yard for less than face value: priceless

    (full archive) (previous entry) (next entry)

  • jordan(@)diaryland.com
    Break the parenthetical spam shackles to email me.

    Thanks to Rob Schrab and Steve Purcell for making great things.

    Georgia is used here.