jordan.dl
prev::next::new::old::email::vendor


2002-06-05 :: 12:00 a.m.

  • home sweet where?

    Soundtrack: DJ Shadow, The Private Press

    I've been waiting a long, long, long time for this album. I can't think of an album I've anticipated more, quite frankly. Maybe the second Foo Fighters album, but that came out a lot sooner than six years after their debut. I was listening to it for the first time on the train back to my parents' from my new apartment... associating the word "home" with either of those now seems really weird, since it's in the process of transferring to the latter, and has been drifting away from the former for the past four years. I could've probably seen Shadow tonight if I'd really decided to go crazy -- and had thought to purchase tickets in advance, which I had indeed considered, to be honest, but didn't really follow through on, and they were obviously extremely sold out at this point. He was playing last night too, but I was out with Heather G, and we watched About A Boy, which we both liked, and she took me out for a pre-birthday dinner, which was really sweet. The schedule item that most complicated any potential squeeze play is my flight to Florida tomorrow to hang with Brent, so... here we are, with long-awaited, currently-enjoyed album (which I am sure I will find more and more within, as I always seem to with Shadow), without live concert. Anyway, it was strange to get off the train and have a song called "You Can't Go Home Again" in my headphones as I approached Mom and Dad. I don't know that that's so true. This house, where they are, will always be a home of sorts. But having freshly moved away from school, The End, it's over, having just moved into a new place in a new city, well, it was one of those well-soundtracked moments. I look forward to a few days of brain blitzing relaxation with a great friend.

  • Scud.

    update alerts, maybe:

    Archives for this list are not publically available.
    Max. last five [im]personal journal entries:
  • the leap day that wasn't
  • 28.8 modems rule
  • i've got about six hours at my parents' to sleep before flying back home, so of course i spend some of them on diaryland
  • accounting sure is conservative
  • getting amazing seats at the yard for less than face value: priceless

    (full archive) (previous entry) (next entry)

  • jordan(@)diaryland.com
    Break the parenthetical spam shackles to email me.

    Thanks to Rob Schrab and Steve Purcell for making great things.

    Georgia is used here.