jordan.dl
prev::next::new::old::email::vendor


2002-04-27 :: 2:21 a.m.

  • sometimes, things go right

    Soundtrack: none

    Today may well have been my best day at college ever. Over 100 people came to the reading/presentation, everything went as planned, and I had two hours of pure fun in front of a packed lecture hall. No one in the lecture series has had a turnout like that, and 80-85% of the audience stayed even when it went a little late. Oh God, the applause at the end, so loud and long, it was such a feeling, a high. Sarah gave me a Godiva four-chocolate box, just like in the story -- so touching. Two of my favorite TA's came. People who I know to be introverted said they wanted to tell their stories now, too. The improv group that was to use the space after my presentation was outside when everyone left, and one of them told me he heard someone say that it was two of the best hours s/he had spent in recent memory. Who can ask for more from an audience?

    Afterwards I went out with my family and ate a killer dessert (dark chocolate cream pie and hot chocolate). They dropped me off and gave me a really sweet letter from my middle school principal, who heard about the reading and has actually read "This Boy" herself, since she is a family friend of sorts at this point. I came home and watched the end of Finding Forrester with my roommates, which I'd seen in Australia (and thought was really just so-so, but Connery as Salinger is fun), and then Spaceballs on DVD in Nick's PS2 while drinking one of his Sam Smiths (yum). Unfortunately, PS2's can't do layer 2, so the DVD cut out towards the end. Now I'm here, tired, exhausted, drained, with a sore back, and overwhelmed with the outpouring of goodwill and middle school stories I received. Elation. I wish I could feel like this every day. It really is sweet.

  • Scud.

    update alerts, maybe:

    Archives for this list are not publically available.
    Max. last five [im]personal journal entries:
  • the leap day that wasn't
  • 28.8 modems rule
  • i've got about six hours at my parents' to sleep before flying back home, so of course i spend some of them on diaryland
  • accounting sure is conservative
  • getting amazing seats at the yard for less than face value: priceless

    (full archive) (previous entry) (next entry)

  • jordan(@)diaryland.com
    Break the parenthetical spam shackles to email me.

    Thanks to Rob Schrab and Steve Purcell for making great things.

    Georgia is used here.