jordan.dl
prev::next::new::old::email::vendor


2000-03-29 :: 00:41:48

  • suspended on this stage of grace, dancing about architecture

    Soundtrack: Jason Falkner, "Can You Still Feel?"; Boom Boom Satellites, "Out Loud"

    Oh Erik, thank you for coming out of retirement, if only briefly. I'm honored; you do a fine me. You did make a bit of an ass of me, even if it wasn't intentional(?). I've been informed that it's Tagalog, not Tagalag. And Filipino/Filipina, rather than Philippine. I know you are prone to the occasional spelling error. Or perhaps you were pointing out my having the occasional spelling error. Clever.

    Well. Back to my [ir]regularly scheduled programming.

    Driving was great, had a lot of good talks with Dad. Brent's got a damn fine apartment. It puts my dorm to shame. Pants. We saw three movies in the span of two days: Reindeer Games (theater), True Lies (VHS), and Blade (DVD). I am linking none of those, as you noticed. The last two were back to back: a marathon, if you would. TL was really fun and definitely the caliber of action movie I had been craving. It's also chock full of fun identity issues. I must say, DVD is sweet. I thought Blade would suck but all the fun special effects made up for any story stupidity. It focuses on vampires thinking they are better than humans, and that got me thinking about judging again. When do you truly know you are better than someone? Smugly disregarding someone is so easy to do. It is also quite easy to do wrongly. Luckily, I didn't think too much and instead turned my attention to more basic things. I spent the rest of the time eating amazingly good food (nothing school-run I've had anywhere compares except perhaps Wellesley), sleeping, and enjoying the incredibly good weather. It was bliss. Driving again was fantastic. I miss cars.

    I would encourage anyone reading not to waste a drop of money on RG. Ben Affleck does not an action hero make (didn't Armageddon demonstrate this?). I think Ehren Kruger (high school alum) believes he can get away with twist endings to make a script worth something. He is sadly mistaken. It's meta-cute (and he goes several levels up the ladder), but 15 snappy minutes don't suffice for the stock build-up and poorly executed "emotional" scenes. I don't care that I ruin this: I am glad that the bad girl didn't get saved -- in fact, her brutal demise was pretty smashing (ha! pun!). At least the ending wasn't classic Hollywood happy. I was pissing myself the whole way through. I mean that in a "cracking myself up" way, but I also drank too much water before entering the theater (ahem). This is a bad habit of mine, but for some reason I can't bring myself to leave during a show, either. I'm not sure why; perhaps I don't want to miss some line that might redeem a moment of the movie. Anyway, I did enjoy mocking the thing; I probably ruined it for the other 4 people in the theater besides my friends. I apologized at the end and promptly ran to the men's room.

    Beforehand, I ran into a girl from my high school that now goes to Brent's school. She commented on my hair, which at the moment is big (lazy and overworked). I had decided to accentuate this by blowdrying it up and out, just to see the vertical/diameter I could get. This girl was not taken with the hairdo and informed me of that fact: "I don't like what you did to your hair." This was her opening greeting to me. I told her I didn't care (truth). We repeated this about four times before I told her that I liked her better when she didn't talk. She [stupidly/insistently] told me about her displeasure again. I got my ticket, went into the bathroom, wet my hands and spiked the hair higher. Brent told me he'd crack up if I asked her what she thought now. I thought that was a fine idea. So I caught her eye and said "Hey, you like it better?" then smirked and promptly turned away. That was great. It's funny how little people change; she's still such a bitter little cooter.

    So being back on break, the over-reading of Diaryland has come back. Suburbs + Lack of car = Boredom. You will note a lack of links in the sentences to come. Perhaps you can guess what would belong where, if you feel meta-up-to-it. People seem to be a bit bent up about Diaryland lately. Outside journalers seem to have the lingering doubt in the back of their head, too. To acknowledge, or not to acknowledge? To be a "major player," or to live on the sidelines? To track, or not to track? To post, or not to post? To delete, or not to delete? To linkwhore, or not to linkwhore? To talk to an audience, or talk to yourself? To email, or not to email? What breadcrumb trail are you leaving? What is your weak link? What is mine? Maybe we shouldn't worry. Maybe we should just go with our flow. Or maybe that is the worst answer I could possibly give.

    To link: I am really glad Heather is back from Florida:

    Jordan (6:30:10 PM): do you like audrey hepburn?

    Heather (6:30:32 PM): i think shes pretty in a stupid kinda way but i dont care for the only movie i ever saw of hers
    Heather (6:30:45 PM): fuckin dumb shit breakfast at tiffanys is

    Jordan (6:30:47 PM): really? man. her style rocks my shit
    Jordan (6:30:51 PM): hahaha
    Jordan (6:30:59 PM): she's just like all those ethereal girls that rip me apart

    Heather (6:31:00 PM): yeah everyones so into her style
    Heather (6:31:04 PM): i think its bullshit
    Heather (6:31:08 PM): she looks dumb to me

    Jordan (6:31:27 PM): idono

    Heather (6:31:29 PM): jennifer love hewitt reminds me a ton of her

    Jordan (6:31:30 PM): it's the whole like
    Jordan (6:31:37 PM): "you really like me@??!? i cant believe it!"

    Heather (6:31:40 PM): i only wear black thing?

    Jordan (6:31:41 PM): haha did you see the tv movie?

    Heather (6:31:41 PM): :P
    Heather (6:31:45 PM): no
    Heather (6:31:48 PM): what tv movie?

    Jordan (6:31:55 PM): uh

    Heather (6:31:56 PM): i dont have a tv

    Jordan (6:32:00 PM): JLH PLAYED HER ON TV LAST NIGHT

    Heather (6:32:06 PM): HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
    Heather (6:32:09 PM): fuckin a im good

    Jordan (6:32:12 PM): WWWWWHOA
    Jordan (6:32:13 PM): hahaha

    Heather (6:32:21 PM): yeah see i dont care for either

    Jordan (6:32:22 PM): *high five to the max*

    Heather (6:32:25 PM): they both look stupid as shit
    Heather (6:32:26 PM): hahaha

    Jordan (6:32:34 PM): well jlh's ear stuck out big time
    Jordan (6:32:38 PM): my sister dissed her royally

    Heather (6:32:44 PM): haha
    Heather (6:32:54 PM): as she should
    Heather (6:32:59 PM): the girl is lame

    Jordan (6:33:21 PM): im not a big fan

    Heather (6:33:27 PM): nor should u be
    Heather (6:33:29 PM): yay

    Jordan (6:33:29 PM): she did the accent pretty well i thought (sis didnt)

    Heather (6:33:34 PM): ill tell u who to be a fan of and who not to
    Heather (6:33:37 PM): im the fan of nazi

    Jordan (6:33:41 PM): HUA?
    Jordan (6:33:48 PM): OH AHHA

    Heather (6:33:51 PM): haha
    Heather (6:34:06 PM): i love macy gray, thats my other confession for the day

    Jordan (6:34:07 PM): the "fan of" nazi

    Heather (6:34:12 PM): everyone hates her but i love her ass!

    Jordan (6:34:12 PM): so does she
    Jordan (6:34:18 PM): you and my sister should throw down
    Jordan (6:34:20 PM): hahahaha

    Heather (6:34:23 PM): hahahah

    Jordan (6:34:34 PM): i think this will be the first chat i post in a while

    JLH certainly had the big wet eye thing going on, but her "acting by blinking" methodology lacked a certain something. Tom Shales, the TV critic for The Washington Post and an extremely weird-looking individual (natch), wrote a fantastic critique. Apparently the buzz was that JLH doesn't blow it as Hepburn, so the lack of failure was deemed a success -- which Shales shot down. He did note the un-Hollywood rejection scene in which Hepburn takes her failure to be a prima ballerina in stride -- sheds a tear but doesn't go on a bender or some other classic clich�. In any event, it was a nice piece of fluffy cruft. I got the nostalgia bug and now I want to rent some vintage Hepburn films, which I believe is what Hewitt said was her desired result from the movie, so I guess she did her job. I wonder if she will be the Hepburn of our generation, even if Heather made that connection so snappily. I wonder what that would say about us.

    Lately, I feel more relaxed. Taking it slow is nice. I saw Playing By Heart tonight on a whim, drinking hot chocolate that Mom made. Sarah had recommended it a couple of times to me and I remembered missing it in the theater despite noting the excellent cast. Dad came and watched with us. I've been working on getting him to high five properly. He does it too hard, with too much affect, but we're working on it. Back to the topic, the movie was pretty good, a little too long. Ryan Phillippe plays the kind of guy you think you want to be. He's so quiet and therefore everything he says is 8 trillion times more important and special. It's enough to win over Angelina Jolie, who almost seems to be playing herself (hm heh). Nevertheless, I believe/would like to think that Jon Stewart's character is where I'm headed, and I'm quite happy with that. Making an educated guess, Angelina and Ryan's couple have a lot of chaos ahead. Angelina has herself a few monologues, and the "big" line of the movie is: "Talking about love is like dancing about architecture." But of course, Angelina will (and does) try anyway, possibly even succeeding by the end. Perhaps that is good advice, in a more general sense.

  • Scud.

    update alerts, maybe:

    Archives for this list are not publically available.
    Max. last five [im]personal journal entries:
  • the leap day that wasn't
  • 28.8 modems rule
  • i've got about six hours at my parents' to sleep before flying back home, so of course i spend some of them on diaryland
  • accounting sure is conservative
  • getting amazing seats at the yard for less than face value: priceless

    (full archive) (previous entry) (next entry)

  • jordan(@)diaryland.com
    Break the parenthetical spam shackles to email me.

    Thanks to Rob Schrab and Steve Purcell for making great things.

    Georgia is used here.