jordan.dl
prev::next::new::old::email::vendor


2002-01-16 :: 1:51 a.m.

  • yesterdayidid, todayidid, televised juxtapositions

    Soundtrack: Radiohead, The Bends

    Yesterdayidid:

    • I finished Watchmen, which I had been rabidly reading, and finally understood what I'd been missing all these years. Why did I buy Supreme #1 (ironically, a title Watchmen writer Alan Moore took over later as a sort of challenge) all those years ago when I could have been reading this stuff?
    • I watched Annie Hall. (I would only click that link if you've seen it. Ben's told me some of the one-liners and it's just not as good if you've heard them before.)

    Todayidid:

    • Today I was offered a job at my other top choice. I ran around from the kitchen to the foyer to the sitting room to the dining room and back to the kitchen in circles, hopping, hopping. I was still in my pajamas. I was hired in my pajamas while digesting a Boboli. The HR lady had called last night while my parents and I ate some salmon-topped angel hair, but I missed the call because we did not hear my cell ringing in my room, and though I left voicemail at the office and HR Lady claimed she'd be checking her voicemail in the evening and would follow up, I didn't get a call. The tone of voice in her message sounded good, but she might have a good poker voice, so who knew. So this morning I got up at 9AM and started calling. It turns out she was in a meeting and didn't get out until after 12PM, when she finally got to giving me the good news. My stomach was a mess at that point, but I was very happy.
    • I watched a bunch of cartoons, still in my pajamas, reveling in the relief of having a job prospect I was happy about. Scooby Doo's laugh track ruined a potential nostalgia trip. I saw Metapod evolve into Butterfree. Truly moving.
    • I went out to dinner to celebrate with Mom and Dad. I had minestrone soup (zuppa!) and veal/spinach/wild mushroom ravioli. I drank a lot of Pinot Grigio. We toasted a lot. We talked about my earliest memories. (The earliest one I could recall: Being in a crib at Mom's parents' house, and being very scared of the electrical socket, and puzzled that while a particular stuffed animal smelled very good, he did not taste very good. This smell/taste paradox puzzled me for some time.) Then I ate blueberry cr�me br�l�e and drank a few cups of coffee. I said, "I should get hired more often." I really should.

    Some strange juxtapositions on TV today:

    • Mario Lopez (a.k.a. AC Slater), Danny Bonaduce, and Dick Clark ate buffalo testicles together, in a segment with Anthony Bourdain (that gives a bit more context, but still). I was amazed at how bad/low-budget their show is (a .tv top level domain?). Bad, bad, bad.
    • A naked Ron Jeremy read a poem by Emily Dickinson on Conan. Martha Stewart took a dainty bite of a Wendy's Triple Bacon Classic (and liked it), then washed it down with a shot of Jack Daniels. Conan hit on her a lot. Come on Conan. She is the devil.
  • Scud.

    update alerts, maybe:

    Archives for this list are not publically available.
    Max. last five [im]personal journal entries:
  • the leap day that wasn't
  • 28.8 modems rule
  • i've got about six hours at my parents' to sleep before flying back home, so of course i spend some of them on diaryland
  • accounting sure is conservative
  • getting amazing seats at the yard for less than face value: priceless

    (full archive) (previous entry) (next entry)

  • jordan(@)diaryland.com
    Break the parenthetical spam shackles to email me.

    Thanks to Rob Schrab and Steve Purcell for making great things.

    Georgia is used here.