jordan.dl
prev::next::new::old::email::vendor


2000-01-11 :: 01:36:58

  • clarifications and cars

    Soundtrack: Foo Fighters, "There Is Nothing Left To Lose"

    As I begin writing this, the full-on rock swagger opening of "Gimme Stitches" is enveloping my ears (could be the fact that I have headphones on... haha). Yay for Foo.

    With regards to Esther's latest entry, where she says:

    "then i got home to receive equal condescension from Jordan, who's listed as having a good diary at the Person diary."

    As I said, I am not quite sure what to do with email [yet?]. If my response seemed condescending, anyone reading should know that it was certainly not meant to offend. I do not know what Person's opinion of my diary has to do with anything.

    Having loads of shout outs and inside remarks in this is not my intention or desire. I will try to keep that sort of thing to a minimum (yeah, I know it happens), but I did want a public clarification. Just makes you think about how what is written is taken so many ways.

    I was going to see American Beauty tonight, but I was thwarted by malfunctioning automobiles. I was at a friend's house (where we were gathering to go to the movie) and we are going to use her car. So we all pile in and she turns the key and *cough cough* nothing. Again, and *cough cough* nothing. We're guessing she had a fucked up alternator, so we're like, 'No problem, we'll just take Brent's car.'

    So we all get into his car and start driving and he asks if we "hear that," and gets out to check what the noise is. Turns out he had a flat tire (oops!). So I got to stand around while we fixed that in fairly chilly weather while cursing my luck. The weird thing was, Brent and I had been talking about his puddle-clearing tires a great deal earlier in the day -- and then, pfft, there the front-left goes while we're inside for an hour. Didn't see any gashes, so I want to know what the hell was wrong with it. So of course, after that, there was no way we were seeing anything. You goddamn movie-ruining tire. I'll have my revenge tomorrow when I finally get to see it.

    Went to Fudd's for lunch today and was pretty weirded out by the new style of the place. It's like some kind of mutated sports bar-TGI Friday's type of thing now. I felt like the decor was allowed to overgrow and infest the walls with sports memoribilia that didn't look terribly old despite it's 50's-ness. It was like a moss of photos and placards, tennis rackets, skis, beer bottles and neon signs, and sawed-in-half football helmets. I particularly enjoyed the Lucille Ball RC Cola ad, given that Fuddrucker's is a Coca-Cola sentry, like 99% of the planet. What a weird air of phony that was (on the whole). While I was drinking my shake I read about how Theglobe.com is going down the tubes in USA Today, which was kinda funny. Totally textbook badly run company.

    In light of the AOL-TimeWarner merger, I can't help but think of an Onion article about how just 5 corporations were left in the entire world; they all had these huge hyphenated names. I checked the archives, but I couldn't find it. Anyway, I think a lot of people generally will wave it off, but I'd be curious to see what other ridiculous mergers happen in the near future.

    There were a lot of things discussed today, but no good words in which to recapture them. Some I can't even recall. So I will let them be, happy that they were, and go find something to eat.

  • Scud.

    update alerts, maybe:

    Archives for this list are not publically available.
    Max. last five [im]personal journal entries:
  • the leap day that wasn't
  • 28.8 modems rule
  • i've got about six hours at my parents' to sleep before flying back home, so of course i spend some of them on diaryland
  • accounting sure is conservative
  • getting amazing seats at the yard for less than face value: priceless

    (full archive) (previous entry) (next entry)

  • jordan(@)diaryland.com
    Break the parenthetical spam shackles to email me.

    Thanks to Rob Schrab and Steve Purcell for making great things.

    Georgia is used here.